And the winner is…

Congratulations to Sue Lloyd who won the prize draw for a copy of the new CD “The Complete Columbia Singles Collection”

Thank you to everyone who entered.

The free prize draw was announced on the blog dated Friday June 2nd.

Thanks to Theo again for organising that. And for getting the album released. We’re all winners thanks to your achievement. One last time, here’s the album cover.

It’s not to be missed. To buy it, click on the link in the top left corner under Other Sites: Latest Shirley Bassey New Releases
_______________________________________________________________

Thanks to another winner Tony for sharing this lucky encounter:-

Meeting Dame Shirley in the street…….Where else but Bond Street????

I’d like to share my experience on the Sunday following the Wembley concert.

My friend Bryan and I were still talking about Friday’s show while we were out shopping. We decided to get off of Oxford Street for a bit, and took a right turn. We could have turned down any side street, but the one we chose turned out to be the right one.

As we neared the corner of the next block, we walked toward someone doing a little window shopping. She was ahead of us, but I knew immediately who she was. She was dressed casually in jeans and a cap with her hair tied back, and sunglasses…

I started nudging my friend Bryan, who had no idea why i was poking his arm. I said guess who??? But he still didn’t know. I whispered “It’s Shirley!”


The morning after the morning after this

She was still ahead of us, and walking toward Bond Street. I know she doesn’t like to be bothered when she’s on her own time (quite understandably) but I just had to say something.

As we stood on the corner of Bond Street, I just said quietly, “Excuse me, I won’t bother you, but wanted to congratulate you on a great show the other night”.

She smiled and said “Thank You”.

Her thank you sounded a little nervous, as she probably dreaded it turning into a big deal, with fans asking for photos and raving and drawing attention to her.

As soon as she said thank you, I turned and walked the opposite direction from her… to let her know that we weren’t going to follow. And, although I had my camera with me, I didn’t take any photos. The thought crossed my mind for a split second when we first walked up behind her, but I held off even then.

For the rest of our vacation, Bryan and I still couldn’t believe that, out of all the millions of people in the city, we managed to run into Dame Shirley. Wow!!!


My shtreet?

No, 007, this one.