Sydney Diamonds + New Year’s Karaoke Party

Shirley singing ‘Diamonds Are Forever’ welcomed 2007 with a spectacular £2M fireworks display and massive street party in Sydney.

Her recorded voice belted out the disco version over a gigantic PA system at thumping volume.

You’ve got to hand it to the Ozzies, they know how to stage a display.


And they have the good taste to put our Diamond Dame where she belongs – up front!

*************************************************************************************

Super furry Shirley

*************************************************************************************

If you’re having a party, spending New Year’s Eve with your family and friends… warm things up with a Krazy Karaoke Competition!

Sing-a-long-a-Shirley?

Nobody can sing like the Dame, but you can have a few laughs trying out your vocal chords in diva style

It’s not a true Karaoke because it’s singing with the artist instead of to a backing track but never mind – it makes you realise how good Shirley is

Click on the blue link to the song video, open a second browser, and read the lyrics below – it’s easier to print them first. This is not a time to be bashful -
Go for it!

To see larger text: View/Text Size/Largest

DON’T CRY OUT LOUD

Baby cried the day the circus came to town
’cause she didn’t want parades just passing by her
So she painted on a smile and took up with some clown
While she danced without a net upon the wire
I know a lot about her ’cause, you see
Baby is an awful lot like me

Don’t cry out loud
Just keep it inside
And learn how to hide your feelings
Fly high and proud
And if you should fall
Remember you almost had it all

Baby saw that when they pulled the big top down
They left behind her dreams among the litter
The different kind of love she thought she’d found
There was nothing left but sawdust and some glitter
But baby can’t be broken ’cause you see
She had the finest teacher – that was me

Don’t cry out loud
Just keep it inside
And learn how to hide your feelings
Fly high and proud
And if you should fall
Remember you almost had it all

Don’t cry out loud
Just keep it inside
And learn how to hide your feelings
Fly high and proud
And if you should fall
Remember you almost made it

Don’t cry out loud
Just keep it inside
And learn how to hide your feelings
Fly high and proud
And if you should fall
Remember you almost had it all

*************************************************************************************

IF I NEVER SING ANOTHER SONG

In my heyday
Young men wrote to me
Everybody seemed to have time to devote to me
Everyone I saw all swore they knew me
Once upon a song

Main attraction, couldn’t buy a seat
The celebrity, celebrities were dying to meet
I’ve had every accolade bestowed on me
And so you see

If I never sing another song
It wouldn’t bother me
I had my share of fame
You know my name

If I never sing another song
Or take another bow
I would get by, but I’m not sure how

Always posing, but you love it all
Though you have to learn to act like you’re above it all
Everything I did the world applauded
Once upon a star

Framed citations, hung on every wall
Got a scrapbook full of quotes, I can recall them all
There were times I felt the world belonged to me
And so you see

If I never sing another song
It wouldn’t bother me
I had my share of fame
You know my name

If I never sing another song
Or take another bow
I would get by, but I don’t know how
But I don’t know how
But I don’t know how

*************************************************************************************

THE LIVING TREE
(Royal Variety version)

Let me breathe
Cause I’m drowning in your shadow
Let me leave
Respect me do not follow me believe
I can make my own tomorrow
Let me breathe

Does it make
You feel good cause you own me
Does it take
Your puppet strings to hold me
How I ache
‘Cos you’re trying to control me
Let me breathe

Let me dance ‘till my shoes cry
Let me laugh let me be
Let me dance let me choose my life
Let me climb the living tree

Picture this
When you wake up in the morning
And I kiss
Your sorry ass goodbye
What would I miss
There’s nothing I can think of as I leave

Let me dance ‘till my shoes cry
Let me laugh let me be
Let me dance let me choose my life
Let me climb the living tree

Let me climb the living tree

*************************************************************************************

PIECES OF DREAMS

Little boy lost in search of little boy found
You go a wondering, wandering
Stumbling, tumbling
‘Round… ’round…

When will you find
What’s on the tip of your mind
Why are you blind
To all you ever were, never were
Really are, nearly are

Little boy false in search of little boy true
Will you be ever done travelling
Always unravelling
You… you

Running away could lead you further astray
And as for fishing in streams
For pieces of dreams
Those pieces will never fit
What is the sense of it

Little boy blue
Don’t let your little sheep roam
It’s time come blow your horn
Meet the morn
Look and see
Can you be
Far from home

*************************************************************************************

WITH THESE HANDS

With these hands
I will cling to you
I’m yours forever and a day
With these hands
I will bring to you
A tender love as warm as May

With this heart
I will sing to you
Long after stars have lost their glow
And with these hands
I’ll provide for you
Should there be a stormy sea
I’ll turn the tide for you
And I’ll never
No, I’ll never let you go

With these hands
I’ll provide for you
Should there be a stormy sea
I’ll turn the tide for you
And I’ll never
No I’ll never let you go

*************************************************************************************

Want more?

Just search back through earlier blogs to find lots of songs and lyrics

Have fun!

*************************************************************************************


“Two-Double-Oh-Sheven?
They’ve named a year after me, Mish Funnyfanny.”

*************************************************************************************

No blog on 1st January

*************************************************************************************

