Astrid’s Simply Bassey #132

This week I’m playing a special request for my dear friend Denis who wrote to me about one two of his particular favourite Shirley Bassey numbers from many years ago. Denis remembers “In the early 60’s we had a radio programme called Two Way Family Favourites” and it was for requests from Germany to England and almost every week someone would request HANDS ACROSS THE SEA or AS I LOVE YOU, and it was constantly hearing this that I came to know Shirley and become a life long fan of her. Thank you Denis and I hope you enjoy listening again today.

As I love You – Album 1959 “The Bewitching Miss Bassey”

Hands Across The Sea  – Singles 1958

One thought on “Astrid’s Simply Bassey #132”

  1. It is so good to hear early Shirley,I too remember Family Favourites,Denis will also recall a regular song ( So in Love ) very haunting !
    Note the Vibrato in shirley’s younger voice !
    Thanks for these.

    Like

Please leave your comment here:

