The sea and the sand

Today we have a request from Dame Shirley fan Eddie Star from Brazil and he writes:

As always, every post is a kind of diamond. Every picture is a kind of ruby. Thanks. I really would like to use this comment to ask if it is possible to download the video of Dame Shirley singing “sea and sand”, the way it happened to “What about today”.
I am very much excited about that. Vive la Dame.

So Eddie for you this performance of Dame Shirley at the 1971 Engelbert Humperdinck show from the DVD ‘Bassey on TV’. The song ‘The sea and the sand’  is from the ‘Something’ album. I hope you enjoy it very much.

The Sea And Sand
Written by Johnny Harris / Tony Colton / Raymond
Smith.

Released 1970 on a single and on the album Something.

This album has been
re-released digitally remastered on CD and this song is also available on the CD
collection Bassey – The EMI/UA
Years.

Shirley Bassey also performed this song live in some shows in
the 1970s.

The co-writerJohnny Harris, was also the arranger of this album. He was Shirley Bassey’s director and arranger from end of the 1960′s until early 1980′s. Additionally he was co-producer for this and  some more albums of that period.

The other producer of this album was Tony Colton and he also co-wrote this song. The third writer is  Raymond Smith who had been a member of the group “Poet And The One Man Band” together with Tony Colton. Tony Colton sung and Ray Smith played guitar.  They constituted a new band “Heads, Hands & Feet” in 1970 with Albert Lee, Pete Gavin (who were also former members of “Poet And The One Man Band”),
Charles “Chas” Hodges and Mike O’Neill. “Heads, Hands & Feet” split up in 1973 because of internal strife. Read the sleeve note of the album CD where this band is mentioned by Noel Rogers.

Lyrics:

In the choir of the ocean air
Are you here? Were you ever there?
In the yellow shifting sand
In a dream I held your hand
I run to the sea
And I reach for the sand
Just to hold in my hand
To believe your love
I stand with the waves rushing in
On the tide with my arms open wide
And I feel your love

I recall you in the sea and sand
Crying eyes and
the reaching hand
Touching spray from my brow
Are you near?
Where are you now?

I call to the sea
To the wind
To the rain
Bring him back
Come again
Oh I
need your love

I turn to the sky
And I search with my eyes
For a sign
You were mine
And I
see your love

And then the ebb tide brings a small piece of your driftwood in it’s hand
And you get washed up on the beaches of my long forgotten sand
And I go searching down the long deserted shore lines of my mind
Lighting fires with the pieces
To pass away the time

I run to the sea
And I reach for the sand
Just to hold in my hand
To believe your love
I stand with the waves rushing in
On the tide with my arms open wide
And I feel your love

I call to the sea
To the wind
To the rain
Bring him back
Come again
For I need your love
I turn to the sky
And I search with my eyes
For a sign
You were mine
And I see your love

I run to the sea
And I reach for the sand
Just to hold in my hand
To believe
your love

(Transcribed by David and Roman)

For the video click the cover on the left or the right

 


(Special thanks to Audrey for the article from the George Webb Collection)