1957 DSB in Vegas

vegas.jpg

Back to Las Vegas…

I read that Shirley started her first USA tour with her first Las Vegas appearance in early 1957 at the El Rancho.

That was the first hotel built on The Strip in 1941. It burned down in 1960.

There is no photo of DSB at El Rancho.

Link to the Vegas4Visitors web site that gives a history about the hotels.

http://www.vegas4visitors.com/museum/elrancho_1941.htm

Thanks to Gary

 

(Non-DSB) Ladette to Lady 4

ladettes.jpg

(Non-DSB) Apprentice ladies

liz-brewer-smallcrop.jpg 

DSB’s mate Liz Brewer appeared on This Morning  at 11:35am on a Ladette to Lady Special.

with Fern Britten and Phillip Schofield

rosemaryschrager.jpg

Etiquette expert Liz was joined by posh chef Rosemary ‘Mother Hen’ Schrager who is the other mentor on L2L.

Starting tonight on ITV1 at 9 pm.

They agreed it was the worst series ever, the biggest challenge either have encountered.

They had to be very hard.

“The ladettes’ whole aim in life was to get drunk and get laid.”

 Liz freely admitted that she was a rebel in her teens, and was expelled from school.

At the beginning of the series, “the girls tried it on, on purpose… they hated Liz and Rosemary.”

Towards the end they suddenly felt they can do better. They used their aggression to prove they can succeed.

“They learned that they can do it for themselves, and it will open doors to a better life.”

At the end, “the girls are so proud of what they have achieved.”

wendy.jpg

Ladylike Fashion followed at 11:50am with Wendy Ellsmore. Two ex-ladettes from previous series were models.

Both are glad they did it, and it has changed their lives for the better, with successful professional careers. 

The inexpensive chain store clothes proved that “what you wear affects how you feel.”

Both young ladies looked divine. A world away from the days they were female louts!

lizshirley.jpg

Dame to Lady 🙂

Where Do I Begin? (Love Story)

The version with the animation.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=32IDaAPKbpo

propr.jpg

Thanks to u44v

This is not the Propellerheads as stated on the YouTube page

 REMIX

A remix of Shirley’s version by the awayTEAM was released on the Where Do I Begin: Shirley Bassey and awayTEAM in September 2000.

 A longer version was released one week later on The Remix Album…Diamonds Are Forever.

This video for the remix was produced, in a comic style.

 Dame Shirley is represented by an animated doll 3D cartoon.

The same cartoon doll appears on the cover of the single.  

***

LYRICS 

Where do I begin?

To tell the story of how great a love can be

The sweet love story that is older than the sea

The simple truth about the love he brings to me

Where do I start?

 

Like a summer rain

That cools the pavement with a patent leather shine

He came into my life and made the living fine

And gave a meaning to this empty world of mine

He fills my heart

 

He fills my heart with very special things

With angels’ songs, with wild imaginings

He fills my soul with so much love

That anywhere I go, I’m never lonely

With him along, who could be lonely

I reach for his hand, it’s always there

 

How long does it last?

Can love be measured by the hours in a day?

I have no answers now, but this much I can say

I’m going to need him till the stars all burn away

And he’ll be there

 

He fills my heart with very special things

With angels’ songs, with wild imaginings

He fills my soul with so much love

That anywhere I go, I’m never lonely

With him along, who could be lonely

I reach for his hand, it’s always there

 

How long does it last?

Can love be measured by the hours in a day?

I have no answers now, but this much I can say

I’m going to need him till the stars all burn away

And he’ll be there

Pantene advert

propellerheads-gown-small.jpg

Another advert using History Repeating.

This time it’s from Pantene Conditioner…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CueJlm6FmUk

Thanks to Gary

***************

Joke for Londoners:

Q. How much does a Cockney pay for shampoo?

A. Pantene.

**************

Explanation for non-Londoners – That’s how a Cockney says £1.10p