The Greatest Performance (of my life)

For today’s blog Paul requested a song from the 1974 BBC. show. Here you can watch the opening song: “A lot of living to do”, the duet Shirley Bassey did with Neil Diamond and Paul’s request “The greatest performance of my life” written by Sandro de América.

Paul wrote: Well …..you asked which clips from YouTube we were missing the most. I could name all of them …it was always delight to see the collection of videos that you had put together.
My absolute favourites were “Born to Lose” from the Australian tour (1979?) and “my Way” with “The greatest performance of my life” (I think from a 1974 BBC special).
I have been a fan since I was 9 years old (I am now 43) and your YouTube collection was a fantastic trip down memory lane, as it included all the TV specials that I remembered from my childhood.
Shirley, is without doubt, the greatest performer I have ever seen.
If you can make some of these performances available to us again, we would all be so happy.
Paul.

The duet Shirley did with Neil Diamond was one of the most commented clips on YouTube. Everybody thought that Shirley was very much in love with Neil but this is the story:

Shirley invited her good friend Soraya Khashoggi to come over to the studio for the recording of the show.

Soraya saw Shirley perform the duet with Neil Diamond on a big screen in the studio and she also thought that Shirley had fallen in love with Neil. She left because she wanted them to have some privacy and the day after the recording Shirley asked Soraya in astonishment why she left the studio so soon. Then Soraya said to Shirley what she thought of the situation and Shirley had to laugh. Her answer was: I was only in love with his diamond necklace” and Neil spend a lonely night in the BBC. canteen.

Another great Neil Diamond song sung by Shirley is: “Love on the rocks” from the movie “The Jazz singer”. I have seen Shirley perform the song live a few times and it became one of my all time favourites.
Here you can listen to the studio version from the 1995 album: “Shirley Bassey sings the movies”. Another Neil Diamond song Dame Shirley did is “Stargazer” which she recorded on the album “You take my heart away” and sung live on several occasions.

Love On The Rocks

Stargazer

4 thoughts on “The Greatest Performance (of my life)”

  1. That’s a wonderful duet with Neil Diamond looking really good. Too bad he has not aged as well as the Dame today but that’s another story. The Dame is at her most beautiful. This wig suits her best.

    Like

Please leave your comment here:

