New BGO release at last!

I Capricorn/And I Love You So

The latest CD from BGO was scheduled for release on October 4th but never appeared.  I had pre-ordered a copy from BGO’s main site and was hoping I might have got it a few days earlier.  I’m always impatient when a ‘new’ CD is to be issued.  As two weeks had passed after the release date and I hadn’t received my CD I contacted BGO enquiring about it.  I received an email to be informed that there was a problem with production and it would be a further two weeks before it would be available.  I had the option to cancel my order but decided to leave it as I wanted the CD anyway.  Well a little longer than the two weeks (nearly six in fact) the CD has eventually arrived!  The official release date I’ve now seen for this is December 6th in the UK.

This is a 2 CD set packaged as normal in slimline double jewel case with a card slipcase.  I’m not keen on the sleeve design for this one.  There is a booklet enclosed and although very imformative there are no new photos.  Once again I’m very pleased with the quality of the remastering and Shirley’s voice comes over crystal clear.  One of my favourites songs of all time by Shirley is ‘Ballad Of The Sad Young Men’.  I love the orchestration on this recording and love the way she really pronounces the end letter ‘t’ on words such as ‘heart’ and ‘part’.  Unfortunately there are no bonus tracks on this set.  It is a straight remastering of the two original album releases.  It is a nice set to have in the collection and I’m hoping more will follow from BGO.  The album ‘The Magic Is You’ has never been remastered and officially released on CD in the UK.  There was a CD issued many years ago on the ‘EMI Manhattan’ label in the USA.  I’m hoping that BGO may release that album next.  There are still tracks from both the Columbia and UA labels that are waiting to be remastered and released on CD.  I’m hoping for those too.  For the moment I have to be patient and be grateful for this new addition to their catalogue of Bassey material.

10 thoughts on “New BGO release at last!”

  1. Great! I really like both of these albums. I especially love her version of Where is Love from Oliver on I Capricorn. It is just gorgeous. Thanks!


  2. Hi all

    Apparently the next BGO issue will be The magic is you/Thoughts of love.

    Thoughts of love is an LP collection from the 70s, and whilst contains lovely songs, is a very odd choice! But I guess there aren’t many outstanding albums to double The magic is you up with?!

    I am looking forward to Live in Japan 77 and Something/Something else which surely must be possible future releases?


  3. Instead of “Thoughts Of Love” the album “All By Myself” could be doubled up with “The Magic Is You” Or so called “lost” tracks like “Runaway” and the Towerbell singles.


  4. these recordings all hail from UNITED ARTISTS/EMI /Columbia in the UK. ( ps. USA RESIDENTS NOTE, THE famous USA label Columbia was labelled as CBS in the UK. l quality reissues are welcome. With an artist of Shirley`s longetivity all too often the same tracks are reissued and there is insufficient detail unlike the days of LPS as to which recordings they are. We will probably never know whether the artist has little control, is not overly interested and meanwhile unissued recordings or `b` sides of singles are left in the archives. Shirley`s `I am what I am` probably the most reissued album ever did not include `If you do not understand` on the LP, HOW MANY PEOPLE ENDED UP WITH THAT POOR SLOW VERSION OF `KISS ME, HONEY, HONEY KISS ME`


  5. All By Myself is widely available after its initial release on the Applause label. I also wish to have the Towerbell singles like There’s No Place Like London & To All The Men I’ve Loved Before.

    Thoughts Of Love was a compilation and should not be paired with The Magic Is You.


  6. I absolutely agree. I have said to BGO that ‘Thoughts of love’ is a bad idea. I would prefer ‘All by myself’ with ‘The magic is you’, and whilst you can get them both on CD they would be a better pairing and would be nice remastered.

    I have been trying to persuade BGO to reissue a remastered ‘I am what I am’ with the following extras:
    He needs me
    To all the men I’ve loved before
    There’s no place like London
    Born to sing (forever)
    If you don’t understand (Special dance mix)

    But they do not know who holds the rights – so perhaps this release will never happen? If anyone out there knows who holds the rights to the Towerbell material perhaps you could write in?

    I am also keen to get Live in Japan 77 (which is superb) as well as a UA singles collection (with all the Italian singles and of course Runaway!) released.

    I suppose we will be given Something/Something else before any of the above!!


  7. For all I know Towerbell went bankrupt, therefor the original mastertapes are lost. In this day and age it’s possible with the right studio equiptment to make wonderful soundquality using other sources that the original master tapes
    About the rights, they keep releasing over and over again the “I Am What I Am” album so I figure that it’s not that hard to do so for the 5 songs that were recorded for Towerbell. Meanwhile there was a Chinese or Japanese CD which included “To All The Man I’ve Loved Before” .


  8. I have the Jap cassette of I Am What I Am with the song To All The Men I’ve Loved Before. However it is not on the Jap CD. Isn’t that strange?

    Since Towerbell went bust, I think no one has the rights anymore. It must be in the public domain for so many re-re-re-re-leases of the I Am What I Am album on CD albeit without the rare singles.


  9. Dave,

    I have both the original EMI releases of these on CD’s and they are both digitally remastered. Is the sound quality much different on this new recording by BGO?

    Many thanks,


    1. Hi Terry

      I noticed when downloading the two CDs to iTunes for my ipod that the album ‘I Capricorn’ came up as ‘Remastered 2000’! The album ‘And I Love You So’ didn’t. I thought the sound excellent but have to be honest and say that there wasn’t a vast improvement to the remastering already done on the EMI releases.



Please leave your comment here:

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.