Ballad of the sad young men

For this blog we have two versions of “The Ballad of the sad young men”, that I hope you both enjoy. One version is of course by Dame Shirley Bassey and the other one is very beautifully sung by Benny G. Benny is a professional singer and not an impersonator. Benny sent the song a few years ago when I had just started the video showcase  for this blog and he wrote:

 

Hello:
I like to share this other song that I love so much that I just had to have a special track made for me. I hope you all will enjoy my rendition of Shirley’s songs. It’s an honour to pay tribute to the monster of voices THEE DIVA Shirley Bassey. Have a wonderful day.

Benny G

You can listen to Benny’s version here:

The Ballad Of The Sad Young Men
Music written by Thomas J. Wolf Jr. and lyrics by Frances Landesman.

Released on the 1972 album ” And I Love You So” and on a single. Also on the collection Bassey – The EMI/UA Years 1959 – 1979. Shirley Bassey sang this song also in the 1976 and 1979 BBC specials. Shirley Bassey sang it again live on her Millennium Tour.

This song is from the 1959 Broadway jazz musical “The Nervous Set”.

Also performed by for example: Gil Evans (1958), Anita O’Day (1960), Roberta Flack, Petula Clark, Rod McKuen.

The B-side of the single was “If I should love again” which was used as a bonus track on the re-release on CD.

Lyrics:

Sing a song of sad young men, glasses full of rye
All the news is bad again, kiss your dreams goodbye

All the sad young men, sitting in the bars
Knowing neon nights, and missing all the stars

All the sad young men, drifting through the town
Drinking up the night, trying not to drown

All the sad young men, singing in the cold
Trying to forget, that they’re growing old

All the sad young men, choking on their youth
Trying to be brave, running from the truth

Autumn turns the leaves to gold, slowly dies the heart
Sad young men are growing old, that’s the cruellest part

All the sad young men, seek a certain smile
Someone they can hold, for just a little while

Tired little girl, does the best she can
Trying to be gay, for a sad young men

While a grimy moon, watches from above
All the sad young men, who play at making love

Misbegotten moon shine for sad young men
Let your gentle light guide them home again
All the sad, sad, sad, young men

(Transcribed by Roman)

For Dame Shirley Bassey’s version of this song click the picture on the left . Shirley sang the song on both of her BBC-series from 1976 and 1979. This is the version from on one of her 1979 BBC-shows.

For the studio-version of “The ballad of the sad young men” click on the single below

4 thoughts on “Ballad of the sad young men”

  1. Its am enormous thrill and honer to have this song posted on such a blog. Shirley!! you are THEE Diva Of Divas Love you,

    Benny G

    Like

  2. This is very sad, yet oh so beautiful. Well congratulations are in order. I only wish I knew about it. Thank you for sending me this now (4/20/11). Ofcourse your beautiful voice is always a touching proformance and ofcourse I knew you were an amateur, you’re the real deal and I miss hearing from you. I would have loved for you to answer me when I wrote you and send the songs I asked for, but, it’s alright, I’m sure you’re a busy man. Very nicely done Benny ‘G’ 🙂 Who in this vast world find you in order to add your name and song to this blog?

    Love, DEE xoxoxo

    Like

Please leave your comment here:

