The 1968 Shirley Bassey Show # 1

PDVD_1959 Today part 1 of the 1968 USA Shirley Bassey Show. We already showed three songs from that show because there were 3 duets in the show: two with Noel Harrison and the one with Jimmy Durante. There are not many newspaper articles from that year. It was also the year Shirley and Sergio got married. At the bottom of the page a selection of photos from over the years sent to us by Jill from Canada.

Special thanks to Andre for the newspaper article
Special thanks to Andre for the newspaper article

PDVD_1961For the video click left

***

***

I’m gonna live and live NOW! Get what I want, I know how! All that the law will allow, One roll for the whole shebang! One throw that bell will go clang, Though I’m alone, I’m a gang, Eye on the target and wham, One shot, one gun shot and bang! Hey, world  here I am …

Don’t tell me not to fly, I’ve simply got to, If someone takes a spill it’s me and not you, Don’t bring around a cloud to rain on my parade, Don’t tell me not to live, just sit and putter, Life’s candy and the sun’s a ball of butter, Who told you you’re allowed to rain on my parade.

I’ll march my band out, I’ll beat my drum And if I’m fanned out, your turn at bat, sir At least I didn’t fake it, hat, sir I guess I didn’t make it.

But whether I’m the rose of sheer perfection A freckle on the nose of life’s complexion A Cinderella or the shine apple of its eye I gotta fly once, I gotta try once, Only can die once, right, sir? Ooh, life is juicy, juicy and you see, I gotta have my bite, sir. Get ready for me love, ’cause I’m a “comer” I simply gotta march, my heart’s a drummer Nobody, no nobody, Is gonna rain on my parade.

1978 Minskoff Theatre Broadway New York
1978 Minskoff Theatre Broadway New York
1980 The Muppet Show
1980 The Muppet Show
Concert flyer late nineties
Concert flyer late nineties
1994 Variety Club lunch
1994 Variety Club lunch

4 thoughts on “The 1968 Shirley Bassey Show # 1”

  1. surely one of the most wonderful dsb performances i’ve ever seen, and i think i’ve seen most of them. such energy, talent and beauty. thank you. fantastic

    Like

Please leave your comment here:

