The 1968 Shirley Bassey Show # 5 -(Last part)-

PDVD_2023

Today the last part of the 1968 USA Shirley Bassey Show. Song: The Impossible Dream from the musical/film ‘The man of La Mancha’. The song was recorded by Shirley for the album ‘And We Were Lovers’ which was also named ‘Big Spender’. Below you see the different covers from this 1967 album. I think this version on the 1968 Shirley Bassey Show is the only live version of The Impossible Dream. I don’t know when my next blog will be as I am leaving soon for Hamburg to see Dame Shirley perform. I just hope this bad weather we are having right now all over Europe is not going to cause problems for the performance on Thursday. A performance we all are looking forward to so very much! Yesterday Dame Shirley’s flight to Hamburg was cancelled due to the bad weather. Now she is booked on a flight for today (Monday). So fingers crossed for everybody who is going to Hamburg that all goes well.

 

PDVD_2022For the video of The Impossible Dream click left

 

 

trkl017a

trkl017h

trkl017i

trkl017f

To dream the impossible dream
To fight the unbeatable foe
To bear with unbearable sorrow
To run where the brave dare not go
To right the unrightable wrong
To be better far then you are
To try when your arms are too weary
To reach the unreachable star

This is my quest
To follow that star
No matter how hopeless
No matter how far

To be willing to give
When there’s no more to give
To be willing to die
So that honour and justice may live

And I know if I’ll only be true
To this glorious quest
That my heart will lie peaceful and calm
When I’m laid to my rest

And the world will be better by far
That one man, scorned and covered with scars
Still tries with his last ounce of courage
To reach the unreachable star

4 thoughts on “The 1968 Shirley Bassey Show # 5 -(Last part)-”

  1. Thank you Pieter for all the Dame Shirley news you put on the BASSEY BLOG. as I celebrated my 73rd. birthday on the 7th. of January and Dame Shirley her 76th. on the 8th. we are of course both Capricorn. I have 4 photographs taken with Dame Shirley in 1963 in Leicester in her dressing room. Also the Town Hall Birmingham 1963 and the Fort Regent JERSEY C.I 1995. If on your return from Hamburg you would perhaps get in touch with me by email we could discuss how I can get them to you if you and other fans of Dame Shirley would like to see them. Yours faithfully Mr. D. Welch Jersey C I.

    Like

  2. Yes, thanks Pieter – I have enjoyed watching this US TV Show and Shirley’s performance of ‘The Impossible Dream’ is magical. Looking forward to Thursday in Hamburg – see you there I HOPE!

    Like

  3. Hope everything goes well for you Pieter and the big Bassey concert. Oh how great it would be if she would do at least a type of mini world tour of major cities so the fans can see her again live. I know she’s gonna be ASTOUNDING, based on all the many times I saw her in the New York and Westbury areas. Hopefully the concert will be available on cd/dvd. Best wishes.

    Like

Please leave your comment here:

