From the archive # 135 -1976-

1976 E
Newspaper photo from the 1976 Royal Variety Performance

Today a ‘From the Archive’ post about the Royal Variety Performance from 1976. We found some fabulous new photos from the Geroge Webb Collection from that performance plus photos from after the show when Dame Shirley met with the other artists and the Queen Mum. For previous posts about the Royal Variety Performance from 1976 CLICK HERE & CLICK HERE

Rehearsing for the Royal Variety Performance
Rehearsing for the Royal Variety Performance

1976  Royal Variety Performance 9

IMG_0038

IMG_0039

IMG_0040

IMG_0041

IMG_0044

IMG_0043

IMG_0050

***

In case the video is not available for your country CLICK HERE please to watch it.

7 thoughts on “From the archive # 135 -1976-”

  1. I Have TO COMMENT ,I AM WITH YOU CLAUDIA !000 % IF NOT MORE ,TANGERINE ON DAME SHIRLEY IS SUPERB ,, I SAW HER ONCE IN THAT COLOUR TANGERINE IN THE EARLY 60,s ON STAGE SHE KNOCKED ME OUT SHE WAS SO BEAUTIFUL.
    O.K I HAVE SEEN HER WITH BETTER HAIR STYLES, WE HAVE ALL HAD AN HAIR STYLE WHICH DOES N,T ALWAYS SUIT US, I KNOW I HAVE , AT 74 I HAVE HAD A FEW,THE 50,s TONY CURTIS ,,THE D.A THE CREW CUT ,ELVIS , 60,s & 70,s, SHOULDER LENGTH, BACK TO THE BEGINNING SHORT BACK & SIDES.I,M LUCKY I GUESS I STILL HAVE A FULL HEAD OF HAIR , IT MAY BE GREY / WHITE, BUT I,VE STILL GOT IT.,DAME SHIRLEY IS MISS SHOW BUSINESS , AFTER ALL. THE GREATEST ENTERTAINER EVER .
    O.K GOWN GURU , I SEE YOUR POINT , & WE ALL HAVE OUR POINT OF VIEW, BUT LOOK AT THE PERFORMANCE OF THOSE TWO SONGS IT,S BASSEY AS I ONLY WANT HER PERFORMANCES TO BE ,[FANTASTIC]

    Dennis JERSEY C.i

    Like

  2. Shirley gives an interestingly different performance on `my way`, reflective, quiet almost, the voice so full of emotion. I actually like this spectacular gown. I well remember seeing her wear it at the BRIGHTON CENTRE on the 1979 tour. So many of the camera angles were awkward whereas in concert the gown is seen as intended in full length. It is easy to forget that SHIRLEY`S wigs hairstyles and gowns cover 61 years. She is expected to look spectacular on every occasion…. it must take some doing. One of my favourites was the green `see thru` as seen at the Royal Festival Hall, only ever seen a partial picture of that one.

    Like

    1. I think she looks better in this color than even pink really, or yellow. Don’t believe I’ve seen the green dress you speak of Terence. What year was the concert at the Royal Festival Hall if you remember my friend.

      Like

Please leave your comment here:

