Hello Like Before – New Album Details Emerge Despite Delay On Official Website Announcement

Amazon are listing three physical releases of “Hello Like Before” – A Standard CD Edition and Deluxe CD Edition released November 24th, with a Vinyl Edition following later on December 15th.

01. This Is What You Are
02. Englishman In New York
03. Fever
04. I’m Still Here
05. MacArthur Park
06. Wild Is The Wind
07. Goldfinger
08. Diamonds Are A Girl’s Best Friend (Duet With Paloma Faith)
09. Here’s To Life
10. It Was A Very Good Year
11. Hello Like Before
12. We Got Music (Deluxe Edition Only)
13. Hey Jude (Deluxe Edition Only)

A spokesperson from Sony Music advised The Bassey Blog: “There has been a delay with the announcement, more to follow soon!”

The following cover art has been published on Sony Music’s Italian language website and has been picked up in some Italian media. It is unclear if this is the final cover artwork or if the deluxe and vinyl editions will carry alternative imagery:

Hello Like Before

Due to the unexplained delay and silence on the official website, we are affectionately nicknaming the album, “Hello, is there anybody there?” and since Italians broke the news, this song comes to mind:

About the duet ‘Diamonds Are A Girl’s Best Friend,’ The Press reported on Paloma Faith’s idolisation of Dame Shirley Bassey. “I feel a bit like pinching myself,” said Paloma, admitting to be being “obsessed by (her) biggest, most incredible inspiration” and revealing “I’ve recorded the duet with her for her 60-years-in-music album, it’s not a secret James Bond track; I wish it was.”

London, Wednesday October 22nd: Wembley Arena reports that Dame Shirley Bassey will be receiving a Lifetime Achievement Award at this year’s MOBO Awards show.

Los Angeles, October 29th: Yahoo reports further details of the amFAR event. Rebecca Wang will chair and Gwyneth Paltrow will host the black tie event which starts at 6.30pm with a cocktail reception prior to the fashion show. Dinner will follow at 8pm accompanied by live entertainment, including a rare American performance by renowned Welsh singer Shirley Bassey, before the evening’s cornerstone activity, the live auction. (Full details here)

14 thoughts on “Hello Like Before – New Album Details Emerge Despite Delay On Official Website Announcement”

  1. I think a great choice of songs. I am sure the album will be as always “wonderful”.Pre order prices on Amazon are £12.99 or £16.99 for the deluxe CD. Amazon also advertises a 5 CD box set of DSB. Due for release in November. KEEP SINGING FOREVER DAME SHIRLEY!!!!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. It looks as though Shirley has been collecting songs to include. I simply cannot wait to hear the whole collection. I think the re recording of `GOLDFINGER` is a mistake and a new song would have been better. It has already been re recorded in the studio and is on `live sets. Why do record companies not just release a CD (why have 2 editions which means some people may not realise and miss 2 songs. Still I do not wish to spoil the enjoyment. I am sure Shirley would not record if unhappy with her voice and `WE GOT MUSIC` proved she is fine voice. Some of the songs are completely new to me. I really hope Shirley promotes the album with some TV appearances. It would be really great to see her. I particularly want to hear `MACARTHUR PARK`

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I am looking forward to “IT WAS A VERY GOOD YEAR” Frank Sinatra’s version is amazing, DSB loved Frank so lets hope she does him proud. I am sure she will. There is one song I would love DSB to sing and that is Elton Johns “CIRCLE OF LIFE” from the lion King. An amazing song..

    Liked by 1 person

  4. WOW!! WHAT A GREAT SURPRISE AFTER A LONG SUMMER OF MOVING ABOUT. FINALLY SOME TEASING DETAILS ON THE NEW CD. VERY TRUE COMMENTS IN JULIE AND TERENCE, “CIRCLE OF LIFE” WOULD HAVE BEEN GREAT ON THIS CD IN PLACE OF “GOLDFINGER” I SUSPECT TOO. APPARENTLY THERE MUST BE SOMETHING DIFFERENT ABOUT IT THIS TIME AROUND TO INCLUDE IT AGAIN. MY ALL TIME FAVORITE RENDERING OF THE SONG WAS ON DAME SHIRLEY’S “…SINGS THE THE MOVIES” CD. ALTHOUGH MY FAVORITE BOND SONG WAS “DIAMONDS ARE FOREVER”. BUT IN ANY CASE AS TERENCE MENTIONED IT’S A VERY INTERESTING CROSS SECTION OF MATERIAL FROM DIFFERENT AREAS. I TOO TERRENCE HAVE ALWAYS THOUGHT THAT BASSEY COULD HAVE DONE ALOT OF JUSTICE TO THE CLASSIC “MACARTHUR PARK” WHICH I FIRST BECAME AQUAINTED WITH BY THE LATE GREAT DONNA SUMMER (ANOTHER ONE OF MY FEMALE IDOLS WHILE GROWING UP IN THE 1970s). SO IT WILL BE VERY ANTICIPATED TO SEE HOW THE QUEEN OF CLASSIC POP PUTS THE BASSEY TOUCH TO ON IT. I AM SO GLAD SHE’S COVERING ON CD/ VINYL THE LATE GREAT SHIRLEY HORNE HIT “HERE’S TO LIFE”. I ALWAYS LOVED HORNES HAUNTING MOODY VERSION. IF THE DAME’S RENDERING OF IT LIVE ON ONE OF HER CONCERTS IS ANY INDICATION- SHE’S GONNA NAIL IT AGAIN FOR SURE. SHE KNOCKED US OUT WITH THE LIZA MINNELLI CLASSIC FROM THE 1970s WHICH FRANK SINATRA IS MOST REMEMBERED FOR IN ” NEW YORK NEW YORK”, SO YES IT’LL BE SOMETHING TO HEAR HER VERSION OF SINATRA’S “IT WAS A VERY GOOD YEAR”. PLUS THE CLASSIC ” FEVER” WHICH BETTE MIDLER RECENTLY DID UNDER BARRY MANILOW’S DIRECTION A FEW YEARS BACK. BUT EVEN BETTE MIDLER SAID IN AN INTERVIEW ONCE, ” I’M NO SHIRLEY BASSEY”. THE PALOMA FAITH DUET WILL DO NO HARM- THIS YOUNG LADY IS DYNAMITE ALREADY. NOW THAT SHE’S GRACED US AGAIN, LET’S PRAY FOR ATLEAST A MINI WORLD TOUR THAT’S BEEN RUMORED FOR YEARS NOW. BUT IN ANY CASE I’M SURE WE ALL AGREE IN SHOUTING THANKS TO HER AGAIN AND- ” L O N G L I V E T H E DAME !!!!”

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I’m hoping there is a similar “Making of … ” program for this project as there was for The Performance. My CD is pre-ordered. Counting the days along with everyone else. Yes, Emmit, long live the Dame!

    Liked by 3 people

  6. LOVELY TO READ ALL YOUR GREAT COMMENTS, I ALSO LOVED DELLA REESE’S VERSION, [ OF IT WAS A VERY GOOD YEAR ] ,
    AND THE {1958 PEGGY LEE MASSIVE HIT ,[ FEVER ] ANOTHER GREAT SONG { I’M STILL HERE } TAILOR MADE FOR THE GREATEST ENTERTAINER [ EVER ] THE ONE AND ONLY ,
    DAME SHIRLEY BASSEY, & THANKS TO GOD , [ SHE IS STILL HERE }
    AT 77, & I MYSELF AT 74 ;,, SHE IS 78 ON THE 8th OF JANUARY, I WILL BE 75 ON THE 7th OF JANUARY I WOULD NEVER HAVE THOUGHT IN A MILLION YEARS IN 1957 MYSELF, AT { 17 ], AND SHIRLEY AT [ 20,] { ONLY JUST } THAT SHE WOULD STILL BE GIVING ME THE SAME OLD TINGLES, GOOSE PIMPLES, AND ALL THE OTHER SENSATIONS & EXCITEMENT , I AM FEELING OF THE FORTH COMING RELEASE OF HER NEW C.D [ HELLO LIKE BEFORE }
    IT’S LIKE IN THE { POINTER SISTERS, HIT RECORD ] I’M SO EXCITED & I JUST CAN’T HIDE IT, .
    I’M SURE THERE WILL BE PEOPLE OUT THERE THINKING AT NEARLY { 75 } GROW UP, BUT AS LONG AS DAME SHIRLEY IS AROUND IN MY WORLD I DON’T WANT TO, & I WILL CARRY ON JUST AS I AM ,
    I KNOW TRUE DAME SHIRLEY FANS & MY OWN SPECIAL DAME SHIRLEY FRIENDS FROM THE BASSEY BLOG & AROUND THE WORLD UNDERSTAND MY ADORATION [ I JUST CAN’T HELP IT }
    AS THE SONG SAY’S [ I HAD TO DO IT MY WAY,,& THIS IS MY LIFE,]
    THANK YOU DAME SHIRLEY.

    DENNIS [ JERSEY CHANNEL ISLANDS ]

    Liked by 2 people

  7. I wonder if the film of `HERES TO LIFE` which according to Peggy`s blog at the time was included in `another audience with` but cut from the broadcast, still exists. Shirley sang it beautifully at Wembley Arena 2006. Lets hope Shirley includes a song at the AMFAR evening in USA and we get to see the photos. With the revival of `Sunday night at the London Palladium` on UK TV an ideal appearance with new songs would be a great showcase for the new CD or indeed an overdue return to the ROYAL VARIETY SHOW.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Yes I agree what everyone has blogged I think Goldfinger could have been left out and another song in its place, after all we do t get a new Bassey album very often. Having said that can’t wait lets get all the Bassey fans to buy it and make it a massive big hit for her!!!

    Liked by 3 people

Please leave your comment here:

