FROM THE ARCHIVE 292 -1968-

1968_this_is_my_life_sanremo

931411_139419209579130_171403128_nLa Vita
Music written by B. Canfora
Original Italian words by A. Amurri
English lyrics by Norman Newell.

Released in 1968 on an Italian Single and on the Italian album La Vita. Available on CD digitally remastered on the collection Bassey – The EMI/UA Years 1959 – 1979.

For this song the lyrics of the original Italian song “La Vita” were partially rewritten in English by Norman Newell. In the next step he penned English words for the remaining Italian parts of the song and the result was This Is My Life.

In the spring of 1968 Shirley Bassey sang La Vita live at the San Remo Festival in Italy. Shirley Bassey had selected this song to win the festival with. Among the other contestants were Dionne Warwick and Louis Armstrong. Shirley Bassey received the greatest crowd ovation of any performer with her impassioned rendition of “La Vita”, but unfortunately she couldn’t get into the the finals, because of a long outstanding bias against non-Italian contestants, or maybe because of the dialect she has. Although she failed to win the festival, the Italian public fell in love with this Welsh diva.

A single with “This Is My Life” had been released in Italy then and to remember the public about the festival it has the note “XVIII Festival Di Sanremo” on the cover though it contains the English version (UA 3130, B-side: “Without A Word”).

sanremolavitarecordcover1968

la vita - ita sgl - centre

68RMBassey27thJan

68NMEBassey20thJan

68RMBassey24thFeb

La vita

2

3

4

Lyrics:

Funny how a lonely day,
can make a person say:
What good is my life
Funny how a breaking heart,
can make me start to say: W
hat good is my life
Funny how I often seem,
to think I’ll find another dream
In my life
Till I look around and see,
this great big world is part of me
And my life

Ah, la vita
Più bello della vita non c’è niente
E forse tanta gente non lo sa, non lo sa, non lo sa

Ah, la vita
Che cosa di più bello esiste al mondo
E non ce ne accorgiamo quasi mai, quasi mai, quasi mai

Sometime when I feel afraid,
I think of what a mess
I’ve made Of my life
Crying over my mistakes,
forgetting all the breaks
I’ve had In my life
I was put on earth to be,
a part of this great world is me
And my life
Guess I’ll just add up the score,
and count the things
I’m grateful for In my life

Ah, la vita
Più bello della vita non c’è niente
E forse tanta gente non lo sa, non lo sa, non lo sa

Ah, la vita
Che cosa di più bello esiste al mondo
E non ce ne accorgiamo quasi mai, quasi mai, quasi mai

Ah, la vita
Che cosa di più bello esiste al mondo
E non ce ne accorgiamo quasi mai, quasi mai, quasi mai

Ah, la vita
Ah, la vita
Ah, la vita

(Transcribed by Roman supported by Francesco)

3 thoughts on “FROM THE ARCHIVE 292 -1968-”

  1. To me THIS SINGLE always Will Remain the Most outstanding MEMORY of the Whole Year of 1968,For me,
    THIS IS MY LIFE / WITHOUT A WORD , The Lyrics Of BOTH these songs only Dame Shirley Could interpret them in this way.And it was a low time for me in My Life, But a Happy Time for Shirley, So it Registerd as a Strong Memory which as Always Remained ,, & her Performances When Doing THIS IS MY LIFE ,, UNFORGETABLE.
    I can always see the Beautiful Picture of Dame Shirley Pictured in SAN REMO AT THE SONG FESTIVAL,& it was in 1968 on the 8th of June she Married & was Pictured With her 2nd Husband Sergio Novak She was RADIANT & so happy at this Point in her LIFE & Career . Dennis C.I

    Liked by 1 person

  2. There was a fascinating programme on Radio 4 Xtra last night about the penchant of singers/reocrd labels, particularly in the 1960’s, to record songs in foreign language. They concentrated a lot on German and the Beatles but there was an American contributor who spoke about the San Remo festival. Although she didn’t mention Shirley specifically whilst I was listening she said that the festival was the precursor to the Eurovision Song Contest and that many acts, including ones from England appeared and sang their songs in Italian and English. She said that invariably the English performers always bombed. Having seen several performances of Shirley on Italian TV it is clear that they loved her but it seems that for non-Italians it the San Remo was a hard nut to crack.

    Like

Please leave your comment here:

