FROM THE ARCHIVE 296 -1968-

This Is My Life

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Music written by B. Canfora, original Italian words by A. Amurri, English lyrics by Norman Newell.

This Is My Life was recorded on January 14, 1968.
UK release date: March 1968 (UA UP 1207).
US release date September 1968 (UA 50459)
The single is to be found on the 1968 album ‘This Is My Life (La Vita)’ (US: UAS 6675, UK SULP 1210).
Norman Newell wrote the English lyrics for the Italian song ‘La Vita’. She sings this song with so much emotion, eventually it became her personal anthem. With ‘I Am What I Am’ she sings this song at the end of almost every concert. It is therefore available on many live recordings and on many collections and videos. Live available for example on The Birthday Concert.

Because there are also many different studio versions, here is an overview:

– 1968: English/Italian version of ‘La Vita’ (Italy: UA 3130).

– 1968: English version with a length of 3:07 (UK: UP 1207).

– 1978: the first ‘disco’ version of ‘This Is My Life’ was released on the 1978 album ‘The Magic Is You’. The album was remixed by Hank Cicalo, which makes it the 1978 original album version (4:53) (or – so to speak – the Hank Cicalo album remix).

– 1979: when the single got released in April 1979 Hank Cicalo produced a 7 inch remix (3:40) (UK: UP 36502, Holland: UA 5C 006-82651). This version is of course the so-called European Single Version without the ballad intro and verse one, but verse two twice (B-Side: ‘The Magic Is You’). Beware that this version is not from 1978, but from 1979. There’s a bit of confusion here, because the UK single release states 1978 on the label, but that is incorrect. The single was released in April 1979.

– 1979: Meco Monardo & Tony Bongiovi produced a 12 Inch Disco Remix (US: UA-D6001-D, Holland: UA K 052 Z 82651) with the ballad intro and verse one plus a long instrumental break, which makes it in total 6:15 long (B-side: ‘The Magic Is You’). The Dutch 12 inch is causing a lot of confusion for many years and still does, because the label states a length of 6:51, but that’s an error. It has the same 6:15 length as the US pressing.

– 1979: Rick Gianatos re-recorded and re-mixed the song and recorded alternate vocals with Bassey. The long version (6:17, intro 0:37) can be found on the US 12 Inch (UA-D6007-D). It does not include the ballad intro, but verse one got a disco beat right away (B-Side: ‘Copacabana (At The Copa)’). These sessions were originated with Bassey prior to her deal with The Entertainment Company. Due to contractual conflicts with the original album producers the credits on the label says re-recorded and mixed by Rick Gianatos. In reality Rick Gianatos was the producer of these two songs. In 1979 the Rick Gianatos remix got a US-only 7 inch release (4:25, intro 0:19) (UA-X1303-Y). Apart from being edited down, the intro is different (quite similar to the intro of the Hank Cicalo 7 inch remix) and at the end it is fading out during the instrumental break, but the rest is the same mix. A German 1979 pressing of the 12 inch version (EMI Electrola 1 C 052-82 734 YZ) states a length of 6:08 (with ‘Copacabana (At The Copa)’ on the B-Side), but despite the 9 seconds difference it is the same Rick Gianatos 12 inch remix.

– 1984: Bassey recorded yet another studio version of ‘This Is My Life’, this time together with the London Symphony Orchestra (3:52).

– 2007: The Delta Lloyd insurance company used the original 1968 version of ‘This Is My Life’ as background music for their Dutch TV commercial. It can be watched on Youtube here:

CD releases:
– The 1968 English/Italian version is not available on CD to our knowledge. This is written in February 2017, so maybe it gets included on future CD albums or compilations.

– The 1968 English version is available on the 2009 BGO remaster of ‘This Is My Life/Does Anybody Miss Me’ and on most of the Shirley Bassey CD compilations.

– The 1978 original album remix by Hank Cicalo is available on the 2011 BGO remaster of ‘The Magic Is You/Thoughts Of You’ (track 1 of CD 2) and on most of the Shirley Bassey CD compilations.

– The 1979 Hank Cicalo 7 inch remix is available on the 2011 BGO remaster of ‘The Magic Is You/Thoughts Of You’ (track 13 of CD 1, with the wrong mix title on the sleeve, because it’s of course not the 12″ European Disco Mix).

– The 1979 Rick Gianatos 12 inch remix is available on the 2011 BGO remaster of ‘The Magic Is You/Thoughts Of You’ (track 11 of CD 2).

– The 1979 Rick Gianatos 7 inch remix is not available on CD to our knowlegde. This is written in February 2017, so maybe it gets included on future CD albums or compilations.

– The 1979 Meco Monardo & Tony Bongiovi 12 Inch Disco Remix can be found on the 2001 EMI Greek CD Single ‘This Is My Life – The Lost Disco Mixes’ and on three Dutch EMI/Disky compilations: ‘70s Maximum’ (2006) + ‘Original Disco Queens’ (2005) +‘Boys Keep Swinging’ (2005).

– The 1984 version with the London Symphony Orchestra is available on the 1988 CD album ‘I Am What I Am’. It got a few re-releases in later years on different labels and with different titles and artwork, but the content is the same.

68RMBassey10thFeb

68NMEBassey10thFeb

1

2

3

4

Lyrics:

Funny how a lonely day,
can make a person say:
What good is my life
Funny how a breaking heart,
can make me start to say:
What good is my life
Funny how I often seem,
to think I’ll find another dream
(or to think I’ll never find a dream)
In my life Till I look around and see,
this great big world is part of me And my life

This is my life
Today, tomorrow, love will come and find me
But that’s the way that I was born to be
This is me
This is me

This is my life
And I don’t give a damn for lost emotions
I’ve such a lot of love I’ve got to give
Let me live
Let me live

Sometime when I feel afraid,
I think of what a mess I’ve made of my life
Crying over my mistakes,
forgetting all the breaks I’ve had In my life
I was put on earth to be,
a part of this great world is me
And my life
Guess I’ll just have to score,
and count the things I’m grateful for In my life

This Is my life
Today, tomorrow, love will come and find me
But that’s the way that I was born to be
This is me
This is me

This is my life
And I don’t give a damn for lost emotions
I’ve such a lot of love I’ve got to give
Let me live
Let me live

This is my life
This is my life
This is my life.

5 thoughts on “FROM THE ARCHIVE 296 -1968-”

  1. The European single version can be found on CD 1 of the BGO release “Thoughts Of Love/The Magic Is You”, where it wrongly says it’s the 12″ version. On CD 2 the US 12″ disco mix with the alternate vocals can be found.

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave your comment here:

