FROM THE ARCHIVE 298 -1970-

Light My Fire (Written by The Doors)

Released 1970 on the album Something. This album has been re-released digitally remastered on CD and this song is available on other CD collections too.

Shirley Bassey has given many great live performances of this song in shows and at concerts, for example on the Stately Homes Tour 2001 and Thank you for the Years Tour 2003. Shirley’s rendition at the 2002 Safeway Picnic in the Park was ‘so erotically charged it made Will Young sound like an android’.

Several hip-hop style remixes were released in 1999 on the remix-maxi single Shirley Bassey Meets Booster – Light My Fire. A new remix of the old recording by Kenny ‘Dope’ Gonzalez has been released in 2000 the single Where Do I Begin and The Remix Album…Diamonds Are Forever contains the same remix by Kenny ‘Dope’ plus another remix of this song by Twelftree.

From the 1967 debut album of The Doors. They reached position No. 1 in the charts with this song. In 1968 Jose Feliciano reached No. 3 in the US Billboard with his recording of this song. The songs has also been recorded by many other artists.

1

2

3

Lyrics:

You know that it would be untrue
You know that I would be a liar
If I was to say to you
Boy, we couldn’t get much higher
Come on baby, light my fire
Come on baby, light my fire
Try to set the night on fire

The time to hesitate is through
No time to wallow in the mire
Try now we can only lose
And our love becomes a funeral pyre

Come on baby, light my fire
Come on baby, light my fire
Try to set the night on fire

The time to hesitate is through
No time to wallow in the mire
Try now we can only lose
And our love becomes a funeral pyre

Come on baby, light my fire
Come on baby, light my fire
Try to set the night on fire
Come on baby, light my fire

(From Wikipedia)

“Light My Fire Remix” is a single released by Shirley Bassey in 1999. This is a remix of the vocal recorded in 1970 for the album Something, which is also included on this release.[28][29] The single was issued by Blue Note, EMI Music France in two formats a 12″ single and a CD single.

In spring 1998, Blue Note France and Radio Nova organised a competition to find the best remix, created from the Groove and Jazz back catalogues. The DJ had to be an unknown, who had not yet had any work published. DJ Booster was the winner and the hip-hop and club dance remixes of “Light My Fire” were released to the public. French musician DJ Olivier Armbuster, alias Booster, has origins in the suburbs of Paris. He is a musician, who plays a variety of instruments and went on to release an album entitled Loop in 2001.

Bassey’s original recording of the song was arranged by Johnny Harris, who also recorded his own instrumental version using a similar arrangement for his 1970 album Movements.

Track listing
“Light My Fire” (Booster-Remix Edit) – 3:17
“Light My Fire” (Booster Mix) – 5:05
“Light My Fire” (Shirley Bassey original version) – 3:23
“Light My Fire” (Booster Jungle Mix) – 4:23
Personnel
Shirley Bassey – vocals
Rob Nicolas Gueguen – keyboards

70NMEBasseyEOYChartSurvey1

3 thoughts on “FROM THE ARCHIVE 298 -1970-”

  1. I remember being completely blown away by “Light My Fire” and “The Sea and Sand” after I got my first vinyl copy of “Something” in 1996. Those incredible, colossal orchestrations and that voice to match! I’ve heard nothing like it before or since.

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave your comment here:

