FROM THE ARCHIVE 305 -1971-

trkl025dUntil It’s Time For You To Go
Written by Buffy Sainte-Marie.

Released 1971 on the album Something Else which is also available on CD. Additionally this song is on the collection Let Me Sing And I’m Happy.

trkl025eThis song was extracted from Buffy Saint-Marie’s second album: “Many A Mile”, which was released in 1965. It was her most famous composition and was covered by many pop singers including Elvis Presley, for whom it became a big British hit in the early ’70s.

Buffy Sainte-Marie was born 1941 into a Cree Indian family in Canada and has been adopted and raised in a white family. She received a PhD in Fine Art from the University of Massachusetts and also holds degrees in both Oriental Philosophy and teaching, influences which form the backbone of her music, visual art and social activism. As a college student in the early 1960s, Buffy Sainte-Marie became known as a writer of protest songs and love songs. In France Buffy Sainte-Marie was named ‘Best International Artist of 1993’ and the United Nations chose her to proclaim the International Year of Indigenous People. She was recently awarded the Award for Lifetime Musical Achievement by the First Americans in the Arts. Like Shirley Bassey she has released her last new album 1996. (Special thanks to Samia for his help to collect this background information).

1971 AF Something else poster (blog)

71NMEBassey1stMay

1

2

3

4

5

 

Lyrics:

You’re not a dream
You’re not an angel
You’re a man I’m not a queen
I’m a woman
Take my hand
We’ll make a space
In the lives
That we planned
And here we’ll stay
Until it’s time for you to go

Yes, we’re diff’rent
Worlds apart
We’re not the same
We laughed and played
At the start
Like in a game
You could have stayed
Outside my heart
But in you came
And here we’ll stay
Until it’s time for you to go

Don’t ask why
Don’t ask how
Don’t ask forever love me
Love me
Love me now

This love of mine
Had no beginning
It has no end I was an oak
Now I’m a willow
Now I can bend
And though I’ll never
In my life
See you again
Still I’ll stay
Until it’s time for you to go

Don’t ask why of me
Don’t ask how of me
Don’t ask forever of me
Love me
Love me now

You’re not a dream
You’re not an angel
You’re a man
I’m not a queen
I’m a woman
Take my hand
We’ll make a space
In the lives
That we planned
And here we’ll stay
Until it’s time for you to go

(Transcribed by Roman)

One thought on “FROM THE ARCHIVE 305 -1971-”

  1. Thank you Pieter. I really enjoyed reading the background of this song, and also the short interesting bio of the song’s writer Buffy Sainte-Marie. What lovely album covers also. Thank you very, very much.

    Like

Please leave your comment here:

