FROM THE ARCHIVE 324 -1974-

Stevie Wonder & Dame Shirley Bassey
Stevie Wonder & Dame Shirley Bassey

Today a review of You Are The Sunshine Of My Life plus below some photos of a promotion folder from 1974 for the Nobody Does It Like Me album. Written and originally recorded by Stevie Wonder. It is taken from his hit 1972 album ‘Talking Book’ and both the album and the single reached number one position on the US Billboard. The song was nominated for both Record of the Year and Song of the Year and it won a Grammy for Best Male Pop Vocal Performance. This song has also been recorded by many other artists, including Frank Sinatra, Tom Jones and Andy Williams.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Below a photo of Dame Shirley with the promotion folder for her album Nobody Does it like Me, at a press conference in Amsterdam.

IMG

IMG

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

1

2

3

 

Lyrics:

You are the sunshine of my life
That’s why I’ll always be around
You are the apple of my eye
Forever you’ll stay in my heart

I feel like this is the beginning
Though I’ve loved you for a million years
And if I thought our love was ending
I’d find myself drowning in my own tears

You are the sunshine of my life
That’s why I’ll always be around
You are the apple of my eye
Forever you’ll stay in my heart

You must have known that I was lonely
Because you came to my rescue
And I know that this must be heaven
How could so much love be inside of you

You are the sunshine of my life
That’s why I’ll always be around
You are the apple of my eye
Forever you’ll stay in my heart

You are the sunshine of my life
That’s why I’ll always be around
You are the apple of my eye
Forever you’ll stay in my heart.

1974 P

2 thoughts on “FROM THE ARCHIVE 324 -1974-”

  1. Thank you Pieter. I love that picture of Dame Shirley Bassey with Sir Stevie Wonder. He should be made a Sir all the lovely music he has written and performed. Enjoyed the background information, the video and the lovely photo memorabilia of Dame Shirley Bassey. Thank you very much for your time and effort as always.

    Like

  2. I love DSB’s version of “You are the Sunshine Of My Life.” It’s exuberant and sunny and doesn’t require her to blast on all cylinders. I wish there were more songs like this in her catalog.

    Stevie Wonder is a genius songwriter and musician. I wish she’d recorded more of his songs — she would have been lovely on “Where Were You When I Needed You” or “if it’s magic”

    Like

Please leave your comment here:

