FROM THE ARCHIVE 325 -1975-

Good Bad but Beautiful singleToday we review Good Bad But Beautiful. From the 1975 album by the same name and also released as a single. The song was written by Clive Westlake.

Songwriter Clive Westlake is well known for writing several songs for Elvis Presley including ‘How The Web Was Woven,’ ‘Twenty Days And Twenty Nights’ and ‘It’s A Matter Of Time.’

2015-05-17_090140According to the archives staff at Elvis’s Graceland estate, in the early hours of Jul 24 1973 a backing track for ‘Good, Bad But Beautiful’ was laid down at the Stax studio in Memphis.

Earlier that evening Elvis had walked out of the recording session after discovering that his personal microphone had been stolen. Although they continued laying down backing tracks for Elvis to record his voice over, he never recorded the vocals for ‘Good, Bad But Beautiful.’

Clive Westlake composed many songs during the sixties and seventies for a variety of famous artists including The Hollies, Dusty Springfield, Petula Clark and Tom Jones. Though originally from Wales, he spent the last twenty years of his life in Nashville before his death in 2000.

1

2

3

4

5

Lyrics:

I’ve seen a man help a friend when he’s down
And put him back on his feet
I’ve seen a man kick a man when he’s down
In a lonely street

But I’ve seen the face of a child
When he’s lying sound asleep in bed
And I’ve seen the sun go down
When the world is red

I’ve seen good and I’ve seen bad
But I’ve seen beautiful
I’ve seen right and I’ve seen wrong
But I’ve seen love
Life is good and life is bad
But very beautiful
And if you live is right
You’ll fill your world with love

I’ve seen a boy take the hand of a girl
And lead her to his heart
I’ve seen a man break the heart of a girl
And leave her sad

But I’ve seen the love in the eyes
Of the man beside me
Yes I’ve seen the world the way
That makes me glad

I’ve seen good and I’ve seen bad 
But I’ve seen beautiful
I’ve seen right and I’ve seen wrong
But I’ve seen love
Life is good and life is bad
But very beautiful
And if you live is right
You’ll fill your world with love

(Fades out)
I’ve seen good and I’ve seen bad 
But I’ve seen beautiful
I’ve seen right and I’ve seen wrong
But I’ve seen love
Life is good and life is bad
But very beautiful

Good Bad But Beautiful front

Good Bad But Beautiful back

1975 H

1975 - Good Bad But Beautiful -add

75RMBassey8thNov

 

2 thoughts on “FROM THE ARCHIVE 325 -1975-”

  1. This album, from 1975, has always one of my favourites. All in Love Is Fair, and Feel like making Love, beautiful versions by Shirley!!

    Like

  2. Oh…you have outdone yourself Pieter. This album brings back memories. It was the first album I remember my dad bringing into our home, and I always loved the lovely picture on the album cover, my favorite picture because she really looks so happy and pretty. I remember hearing that song, and fell in love with it as well as the entire album, and I have admired Dame Shirley ever since hearing “Goldfinger”, and then my dad bringing home this great album with a lady on the front who for some reason I felt I could identify with as a woman.

    Like

Please leave your comment here:

