FROM THE ARCHIVE 334 -1978-

How Insensitive is another great song from the The Magic Is You album. I know it does not seem like an obvious choice but it still is my favourite Bassey song ever.
“Insensatez” (translated to “How Insensitive” in English, although the Portuguese word really means ‘absurdity’ or ‘folly’) is a bossa nova jazz standard composed by Antônio Carlos Jobim, loosely based on Frédéric Chopin’s Prelude No.4 with lyrics by Vinícius de Moraes. The English lyrics were written by Norman Gimbel.
For a previous post CLICK HERE

IMG

To play the studio version of How Insensitive click the player below.

 

Lyrics:

How insensitive I must have seemed
When he told me that he loved me
How unmoved and cold I must have seemed
When he told me so sincerely

Why, he must have asked, did I just turn
And stare in icy silence?
What was I to say? What can you say
When a love affair is over?

Now he’s gone away and I’m alone
With the memory of his last look
Vague and drawn and sad, I see it still
All his heartbreak in that last look

How, he must have asked, could I just turn
And stare in icy silence?
What was I to do? What can one do
When a love affair is over?

3 thoughts on “FROM THE ARCHIVE 334 -1978-”

  1. One of my many favorites of Dame Shirley. ..and there are so many favorites.
    As she has aged, her voice has aged like fine wine. ..she has only gotten better..
    Thanks for posting Pieter .

    Liked by 2 people

Please leave your comment here:

