FROM THE ARCHIVE 346 -1984-

Big Spender from the 1984 I Am What I Am album. For a previous post CLICK HERE please. Carl Davis was the conductor for this album. Biography From MFiles Website:

Carl Davis has made significant contributions to film and TV music, in the roles of composer, arranger and conductor. As an American living in Britain (and married to the actress Jean Boht) he has found himself film and TV work on both sides of the Atlantic. For TV he has done a number of historical dramas and big productions such as the “Hollywood” documentary series. For film his score for “The French Lieutenant’s Woman” is highly regarded.

In addition to scores for contemporary films, he has also found a little niche composing or reworking scores for silent movies. He did a little of this for the “Hollywood” series, and also scored “Phantom of the Opera” for the Channel 4 Television series of silent classics, for which James Bernard recreated his uniquely dark Dracula sound for the silent “Nosferatu”. Neither of these reworkings of silent movies were on the scale of Davis’ mammoth reworking of Swiss-born classical composer Arthur Honegger’s score for the epic five and a half hour film “Napoleon”. I’ve only heard a small extract from this score and this sounded something like Beethoven, which is perhaps appropriate given that Beethoven originally wanted to dedicate his 3rd Symphony to Napoleon. Davis’ music for “Napoleon” was well received in France, where Davis was presented with an award for the score.

Carl Davis also enjoys another career as a conductor. For a number of years he conducted the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra during their summer season. He then went on to work with Paul McCartney on his “Liverpool Oratorio” for the same orchestra. Davis frequently features as a guest conductor for other orchestras, and has for example conducted the Royal Scottish National Orchestra on more than one occasion. His most recent concert with the RSNO in 2003 was entitled “20 Oscar winners” and included a selection of Oscar-winning film music and songs.

Carl Davis is also the composer of the Shirley Bassey song Sometimes.

1

2

3

4

Lyrics:

The minute you walked in the joint
I could see you were a man of distinction, a real big spender
Good looking, so refined
Say, wouldn’t you like to know what’s going on in my mind?
So let me get right to the point
I don’t pop my cork for every man I see
Hey big spender!
Spend a little time with me

Wouldn’t you like to have fun, fun, fun?
How’s about a few laughs, laughs?
I could show you a good time
Let me show you a good time

The minute you walked in the joint
I could see you were a man of distinction, a real big spender
Good looking, so refined
Say, wouldn’t you like to know what’s going on in my mind?
So let me get right to the point
I don’t pop my cork for every man I see
Hey big spender!
Hey big spender!
Hey big spender!
Spend a little time with me
Yes

(Transcribed by Roman)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One thought on “FROM THE ARCHIVE 346 -1984-”

Please leave your comment here:

