FROM THE ARCHIVE 349 -1984-

back

Today a review of the 1984 re-recording of Goldfinger from the first digitally recorded album I Am What I Am by Dame Shirley Bassey. Below a video from a 1994 BBC documentary where she reveals how Goldfinger was recorded in the studio at the time. Since the Bond themes are topical again today with the new James Bond film being released very soon we would like to thank Paul Joseph & Tim Benzie for their campaign It’ got to be Bassey on Facebook where they gave it their all to bring Dame Shirley’s voice back on the next James Bond movie. But as they say we are not giving up hope as there will always be a next James Bond movie (and 25 is a great number!) For a previous post CLICK HERE .

From Wikipedia: The recording of “Goldfinger” lasted all night as Barry demanded repeated takes due to mistakes by the orchestra members or technical glitches and not any shortcomings in Bassey’s vocal: Bassey did initially have issues with the climactic final note which necessitated her slipping behind a studio partition between takes to remove her bra. Bassey would recall of the final note: “I was holding it and holding it. I was looking at John [Barry] and I was going blue in the face and he’s going, hold it just one more second. When it finished, I nearly passed out. …………………more.

Tim and Paul with Dame Shirley

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Dame Shirley Bassey in an interview about the 1964 studio recording of Goldfinger

Click the player below for the 1984 studio version

1

2

Lyrics:

Goldfinger
He’s the man, the man with the Midas touch
A spider’s touch
Such a cold finger
Beckons you to enter his web of sin
But don’t go in

Golden words he will pour in your ear
But his lies can’t disguise what you fear
For a golden girl knows when he’s kissed her
It’s the kiss of death from

Mister Goldfinger
Pretty girl beware of this heart of gold
This heart is cold

Golden words he will pour in your ear
But his lies can’t disguise what you fear
For a golden girl knows when he’s kissed her
It’s the kiss of death from

Mister Goldfinger
Pretty girl beware of this heart of gold
This heart is cold

He loves only gold
Only gold
He loves gold
He loves only gold
Only gold
He loves gold

2 thoughts on “FROM THE ARCHIVE 349 -1984-”

  1. I remember my disappointment at the time first seeing the LP in a record shop. To me it was a mistake to rehash songs already extensively available or reissued and some for the 3rd time being recorded like `As I love you`. `kiss me honey, honey kiss me` (slow version) should not have been released. As a long time supporter of the great Dame Shirley since at least 1971, I do not think it is healthy to endorse everything as a matter of course. This LP was then extensively reissued again and again under license (?) as Towebell folded. I then had to buy my first CD just to get `If you don’t` understand`. I would like to see a cd including the allegedly `lost` recordings `Sometimes`, He loves me ` (correct title?) `Theres no place like London`, `To all the men I`ve loved before`

    Like

Please leave your comment here:

