FROM THE ARCHIVE 356 -1991-

Sorry Seems To Be The Hardest Word
Written by Elton John / Bernard J. P. Taupin.

Released on the 1991 album Keep The Music Playing.

Previously sung by Elton John 1976 on his album “Blue Moves”. 1977 he reached No. 6 in the US Billboard with this song. Concerning Shirley’s relationship to Elton John, she attended Elton John’s 50th birthday party dressed as Cleopatra. The song has also been performed by Joe Cocker, and more recently in a duet with Elton John and the band Blue.

Below two Dame Shirley Bassey/Elton John videos: The first one Dame Shirley Bassey arrives at Elton John’s 50th. birthday party in 1997 and in the second video she is on her way to Elton John’s wedding in 2005.

Sorry Seems To Be The Hardest Word 1

Sorry Seems To Be The Hardest Word 2

Sorry Seems To Be The Hardest Word 3

Sorry Seems To Be The Hardest Word 4

Lyrics:

What do I have to do to make you love me?
What do I have to do to make you care?
What do I do when lightning strikes me?
And I awake to find that you’re not there?

What do I do to make you want me?
What do I have to do to be heard?
What do I say when it’s all over?
Sorry seems to be the hardest word

It’s sad, so sad
It’s a sad, sad situation
And it’s getting more and more absurd
It’s sad, so sad
Why can’t we talking over?
Always seems to me
That sorry seems to be the hardest word

It’s sad, so sad
It’s a sad, sad situation
And it’s getting more and more absurd
It’s sad, so sad
Why can’t we talking over?
Always seems to me
That sorry seems to be the hardest word

What do I have to do to make you love me?
What do I have to do to be heard?
What do I do when lightning strikes me?
What do I have to do?
What do I have to do?
Sorry seems to be the hardest word

(Transcribed by Roman)

Thats what friends are for-1998-UK-Right records_02

1991 N

1991 R

One thought on “FROM THE ARCHIVE 356 -1991-”

  1. Thank you Pieter. Once again you’ve outdone yourself with this great archive…love it! Love the videos, and love how DSB answers the questions in the article, and DSB sounds simply lovely singing this beautiful song. This is an album I have to get because I love the songs on it. Thanks again!

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave your comment here:

