FROM THE ARCHIVE 357 -1991-

Bassey, Shirley

Thats what friends are for-1993-UK-Succes

That’s What Friends Are For
Written by Carole Bayer Sager / Burt Bacharach.

Released on the 1991 album Keep The Music Playing.

From the soundtrack of the comedy movie “Night Shift” in 1982. In 1985 Dionne Warwick & Friends reached No. 1 in the US Billboard with this song. This was an all-star group including Dionne Warwick, Elton John, Gladys Knight and Stevie Wonder.

On one sleeve note Rick Glanvill mentions Deniece Williams in connection with this song, but as far as I know, it was a different song with the same title that she sung. (In 1976 Deniece Williams sang a song with this title, and in 1978 Johnny Mathis sang it with Deniece Williams.)

Plot summary of “Night Shift” from the net: A nebbish of a morgue attendant gets shunted back to the night shift where he is shackled with an obnoxious neophyte partner who dreams of the “one great idea” for success. His life takes a bizarre turn when a prostitute neighbour complains about the loss of her pimp. His partner, upon hearing the situation, suggests that they fill that opening themselves using the morgue at night as their brothel. Against his better judgement, he gets talked into the idea, only to find that it’s more than his boss that has objections to this bit of entrepreneurship.

IMG

IMG_0001

A remix releases as a single

Lyrics:

And I never thought I’d feel this way
And as far as I’m concerned
I’m glad I got the chance to say
That I do believe I love you
And if I should ever go away
Well, then close your eyes and try
To feel the way I do today
And then if you can remember

Keep smiling, keep shining
Knowing you can always count on me
For sure
That’s what friends are for
In good times, and bad times
I’ll be on your side forever more
That’s what friends are for

Well, you came and opened me
And now there’s so much more I see
And so, by the way, I thank you
And then for the times when we’re apart
Well, then close your eyes and know
These words are coming from my heart
And then if you can remember

Keep smiling, keep shining
Knowing you can always count on me
For sure
That’s what friends are for
In good times, in bad times
I’ll be on your side forevermore
That’s what friends are for

Keep smiling, keep shining
Knowing you can always count on me
For sure
That’s what friends are for
For good times, and bad times
I’ll be on your side forevermore
That’s what friends are for

In good times, in bad times
I’ll be on your side forevermore
That’s what friends are for

In good times, in bad times
I’ll be on your side forevermore
That’s what friends are for

(Transcribed by Roman)1991 (7) - Copy

One thought on “FROM THE ARCHIVE 357 -1991-”

  1. Thank you Pieter. I really enjoyed both videos. The mix is really very good. Dame Shirley in top vocal form singing this lovely song. Deniece Williams, and Dionne Warwick are also some of my favorite singers also. I’ve never seen the movie, will keep my eyes open to see if it’s ever on TV. DSB the lady with the thousand styles and faces… a true Diva.

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave your comment here:

