FROM THE ARCHIVE 369 -1961-

Angel Eyes is a song from the 1961 Album simply called ‘Shirley Bassey’. It was her fifth studio album and her third with EMI/Colombia. The album spent eleven weeks on the charts, beginning in February 1962, and peaking at #14.

The album was recorded with The Rita Williams Singers and Geoff Love and his Orchestra. The album was remastered and re-released on CD in 1997.

1961 C (blog)

1961 W

Scan_20160418 - Copy

Scan_20160418 (3)

Scan_20160418 (2)

Scan_20160418 (2) - Copy

IMGIMG_0001

Lyrics:

Try to think that love’s not around
Still it’s uncomfortably near
My old heart ain’t gaining no ground
Because my angel eyes ain’t here

Angel eyes, that old devil sent
They glow unbearably bright
Need I say that my love’s misspent
Misspent with angel eyes tonight

So drink up all you people
Order anything you see
Have fun you happy people
The drink and the the laughs on me

Pardon me but I got to run
The fact’s uncommonly clear
Got to find who’s now number one
And why my angel eyes ain’t here

So drink up all you people
Order anything you see
Have fun you happy people
The drink and the laughs on  me

Pardon me but I got to run
The fact’s uncommonly clear
Got to find who’s now number one
And why my angel eyes ain’t here

‘s Cuse me while I disappear.

5 thoughts on “FROM THE ARCHIVE 369 -1961-”

  1. Despite being s HUGE fan of hers since 1976, buying her “Love, Life and Feelings” Lp, then all of her earlier 1970s material, & Of course I have all she’s done since then (including the strangely orchestrated & non credited ‘ James Bond tribute ‘ Lp), but very little material from the mid 1960s, and only her nauty hit of the 1950s called “Burn my candle at both ends” and the beautiful ” As I love you “. Outside of “Goldfinger” I know virtually nothing of her early 1960s era- shame on me. The album cover of this one alone looks inviting enough. Ok, I’m sold and I’m ‘gonna’ own this era too. After all, everybody knows that “Bassey is Forever”!

    Liked by 2 people

Please leave your comment here:

