FROM THE ARCHIVE 371 -1962-

In 1961 released on the album Shirley Bassey and this song was also on the EP TILL – And other great songs and on other singles and EP’s. The song is sometimes also written ‘Till or ‘Til.

The song has been re-released on CD on a digitally remastered album, which sadly seems to be unavailable. Shirley Bassey has performed the song live in some TV shows in the 1970’s.

This song charted in 1957 on the US Billboard as an instrumental (before Shirley Bassey’s recording) at position 22 by Roger Williams, and position 63 by Percy Faith. In 1962 The Angels reached position number 14, and 1968 The Vogues position 27, and in 1971 Tom Jones reached number 41. In addition, there have been many more artists and orchestras interpreting this beautiful song.

For more information on the lyricist Carl Sigman look at (Where Do I Begin?) Love Story. This may have been originally a French song and Carl Sigman penned the English lyrics to the song.

Sometimes Charles Sananes is also mentioned as a composer. Charles Danvers also loved Spanish music and wrote some great Spanish-influenced music under the name Charles Sananes. He was a French ‘pieds noir’ from Algeria. During the long war of independence in Algeria in the 1950s he and his family went to France. Because of his talent and success, he was made a knight of the French Academy of Arts. He eventually moved to the U.S. where he taught music.

Special thanks to Gerald Kelly for this additional information.

Below you also find a great live version of Till from a 1972 concert at the Talk of the Town.
IMG

IMG_0001

Lyrics:

Till the moon deserts the sky
Till all the seas run dry
Till then I’ll worship you
Till the tropic sun grows cold
Till this young world grows old
My darling, I’ll adore you

You are my reason to live
All I own I would give
Just to have you adore me

Till the rivers flow upstream
Till lovers cease to dream
Till then I’m yours, be mine

You are my reason to live
All I own I would give
Just to have you adore me

Till the rivers flow upstream
Till lovers cease to dream
Till then I’m yours, be mine

(Transcribed by Roman)

1962 EC NMEBassey21stDecA3AdEMI

3 thoughts on “FROM THE ARCHIVE 371 -1962-”

Please leave your comment here:

