FROM THE ARCHIVE 377 -1971-

Bridge Over Troubled Water is a song from the 1971 Album Something Else

1971 AL NMEBassey1stMay1971 AF Something else poster (blog)

IMG

Lyrics:

When you’re weary, feeling small, when tears are in your eyes, I’ll dry them all.
I’m on your side, oh, when times get rough and friends just can’t be found,
like a bridge over troubled water, I will lay me down.
Like a bridge over troubled water, I will lay me down.

When you’re down and out, when you’re on the street,
when evening falls so hard, I’ll comfort you.
I’ll take your part, oh, when darkness comes and pain is all around,
like a bridge over troubled water, I will lay me down.
Like a bridge over troubled water, I will lay me down.

Sail on silver girl, sail on by. Your time has come to shine, all your dreams are on their way.
See how they shine, oh and when you need a friend, I’m sailing right behind
Like a bridge over troubled water, I will ease your mind.
Like a bridge over troubled water, I will ease your mind.

5 thoughts on “FROM THE ARCHIVE 377 -1971-”

  1. Have never been crazy about this classic song, even by the original artist before Dame Shirley. But it was a good effort and still goes to show though, Dame Bassey can do anything.

    Liked by 4 people

    1. Agreed. I still find this song sappy and maudlin. Works best when rendered in a gospel context ala Aretha Franklin, etc. Still, DSB was in top form vocally and it’s a very listenable song.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Thank you Pieter. I enjoyed the article, album cover and the lovely recording. I agree with Whatsup1000, DSB is outstanding singing this song, and brings greater passion and feeling. Fabulous!!!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I was 16 years old when I buy this album with this beautifull song.
    Nou 45 years later it is still one of my favourit albums and I often play this great song again.
    Dame Shirley is forever even as the songs she sang.
    Thanks again Pieter to show us so many, lovely rememberings !.

    Liked by 2 people

Please leave your comment here:

