Alone Again (Naturally)

Love life and feelings cover aOne of my favourite songs from the album “Love, Life and Feelings” is the song “Alone Again (Naturally)” written by Gilbert o’Sullivan.

There is  only one concert on video where Shirley sings the song live. It is the performance from Sydney Australia from 1978. But Shirley also sang the song in one of the 1976 BBC- shows accompanied by Gilbert o’ Sullivan.

promo picture UA a

 -Promotion picture from United Artists Records Germany (early seventies) Shirley at her Italian home and a 1975 letter and signed concert ticket- 

letter 1975 a

concert ticket 1975 signed

BASSEY__

letter alone again a

notenbalk a

Lyrics Alone Again Naturally:

In a little while from now,

If I’m not feeling any less sour

I promised myself to treat myself

And visit a nearby tower,

And climbing to the top,

Will throw myself right off

In an effort to make it clear to who

Ever what it’s like when your shattered

Left standing in the lurch, at a church

Where people ‘re saying,

“My God it’s tough, he stood her up!

No point in us remaining.

We might as well go home.”

As I did on my own,

Alone again, naturally

To think that only yesterday,

I was cheerful, bright and gay,

Looking forward to, but who wouldn’t do,

To the role I was about to play

But as if to knock me down,

Reality came around

And without so much as a mere touch,

Cut me into little pieces

Leaving me to doubt,

Talk about God and His mercy

Who if He really does exist

Why did He desert me

In my hour of need?

I truly am indeed,

Alone again, naturally

It seems to me that

There are more hearts

Broken in the world

That can’t be mended

Left unattended

What do we do? What do we do?

Now looking back over the years,

To what ever else that appears

I remember I cried when my father died

Not wishing to hide the tears

And at sixty-five years old,

My mother, God rest her soul,

Couldn’t understand, why the only man

She had ever loved had been taken

Leaving her to start with a heart

So badly broken

Despite encouragement from me

No words were ever spoken

And when she passed away

I cried and cried all day

Alone again, naturally

Alone again, naturally.

One thought on “Alone Again (Naturally)”

  1. Great archive Pieter. I enjoyed DSB singing this lovely and poignant song. She accompanied Mr. O’Sullivan on piano beautifully. I enjoyed reading your letter Pieter. I’m sure you still have it in a prominent area of your home. Thanks again wonderful.

    Liked by 2 people

Please leave your comment here:

