RECORD SLEEVES FROM THE PAST – 10

Another album that was only released in  Australia and this one is titled ‘Above All Others’.  It was issued on the EMI label and contains 14 tracks, all from her Columbia recordings.  Unfortunately there is no date again on the record so I’m not really sure when it was released.

Although ‘Goldfinger’ and a couple of her more well known songs are included on this album it’s nice to see songs such as ‘Angel D’Amore’, ‘Count On Me’, ‘Now’ and ‘To Be Loved By A Man’ included.  When I became a fan many years ago Shirley had just recorded ‘As Long As He Needs Me’ which I absolutely loved.  I adored the intensity she displayed when she sang it on TV shows along with some of her other ballads.  I looked forward to her releases and always loved the ballads.  One of my favourites was ‘Above All Others’ when it was issued and remains one of my favourites today.  I have been fortunate to have been a fan since early 1960 and I’m still as crazy today as I was all those years ago.  To me this is a great album as it has some really lovely songs on from the 60’s which bring back spa many great memories.  My friends all thought I was mad for liking her at the time and said she’d be forgotten in a few years.  How wrong they were!!

A really nice release with a very simple b/w sleeve.

SB - Above All Others

 

One thought on “RECORD SLEEVES FROM THE PAST – 10”

  1. Thank you David. Now I have to find the songs on the album that I never heard DSB sing. What a beautiful album cover. Thank you for sharing your albums, knowledge, and lovely DSB memories with us fans. Bless you!

    Liked by 3 people

Please leave your comment here:

