John Barry has died.

John Barry

It is with great sadness that we have heard that John Barry has passed away.  He was 77 years old.  He was a terrific composer and wrote the score music to many great films.  I do feel however that he will always be associated with writing the music and theme songs for a number of the James Bond films.  There is no doubt one of the greatest of these theme songs was ‘Goldfinger’ sung by Dame Shirley.  She went on to record another two of the Bond film themes written by John, ‘Diamonds Are Forever’ and ‘Moonraker’.  It is ‘Goldfinger’ which was recorded in 1964 that people so easily identify with James Bond.  It turned Shirley into an international star.

John also wrote the spellbinding ‘My Love Has Two Faces’ which Shirley sang over the credits for the film ‘Deadfall’.

In 2009 Dame Shirley released her last album ‘The Performance’ which included all new songs especially written for her.  It featured the song ‘Our Time Is Now’ with music written by John and lyrics by Don Black.

The world has lost a great composer and musician and I’m sure he will be sadly missed.

Dame Shirley Bassey said: “I was very sorry to hear of the death of my old friend John Barry, who was responsible for me singing the Bond songs Goldfinger, Diamonds Are Forever and Moonraker. He most recently wrote a song for my latest CD The Performance – it was a beautiful ballad, Our Time Is Now. The world has lost a most gifted man. My thoughts and my prayers are with his family”

Shirley and John Barry with goldiscs for the sales of ‘Goldfinger’

6 thoughts on “John Barry has died.”

  1. What sad news. John always spoke with so much affection of Dame Shirley. In interviews he used to say how much they were in doubt about the lyrics of Goldfinger and he always said that Shirley made the song by the way she nailed it.
    May he Rest In Peace.

    Like

  2. I am sorry to hear this news. My prayers will be with his family and friends, especially Dame Shirley. He will be missed! Who will facilitate the 4th Bond song now? Well…in the meantime I will cherish the 3. Thanks

    Like

  3. I am in shock.
    John Barry was as legendary as Shirley herself is.
    I am very saddened about this news, his Bond songs were the greatest.

    Like

  4. Its sad to hear of Johns death.
    It is hard to fill the shoes of true greats ! Maybe David Arnold is one of the few men who can follow in Johns footsteps.

    Like

  5. Oh, noo!………..I am shocked and so saddened by this news!

    I loved John Barry! As far as I’m concerned, almost every soundtrack he wrote for the movies was a lush masterpiece (“Out of Africa”) or a thrilling adventure (the James Bond movies). He had a sound you could identify immediately and you knew you were in for something really beautiful and really special: “Somewhere In Time”,
    “Born Free”, “Dances with Wolves”, “Mary, Queen of Scots”, “The Lion in Winter”, “Body Heat”, etc.

    I don’t think the general public knows that Shirley knew John, and was on tour with him, before he asked her to do a little song he wrote for a movie. This, of course, became their MASTERPIECE, “Goldfinger”. Later on, they followed that magnificent song with another masterpiece, “Diamonds Are Forever”.

    I’m sure that Shirley had a lifelong friendship with John and is probably grieving for her friend today. I will keep John Barry’s family and friends in my prayers.

    Bravissimo, John! Thank you for the gift of your beautiful and thrilling music. Well done.

    Like

  6. I am sooo sad to hear of the passing of John Barry. I will miss him immensely. But guess what! There was a 4th James Bond title tract sung by Dame Shirley Bassey! (Although it was not selected for use by the James Bond franchise who selected another title song.) The name of this James Bond title song is “Mr. Kiss-Kiss Bang Bang” which was recorded for the movie Thunderball. This recording can be found on the 2nd CD of the CD titled “The Best of James Bond: 30th Anniversary Limited Edition.” The recording is thoroughly riviting with the John Barry composition and Shirley Bassey at their best! You wiill be thrilled if you can hear it!! I am sooo grateful that John Barry came out of retirement to score his very last composition for Shirley Bassey in her CD called the Performance. The John Barry score sung by Dame Shirley Bassey is titled “Our Time is Now.” It sounds reminicent of the Roger Moore James Bond movies. God bless the John Barry family!

    Like

Please leave your comment here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.