FROM THE ARCHIVE 237 -1958-

1958 E NMEBassey10thOct

1959 AF NMEBassey13thMarchChartUKNo1

Kiss Me, Honey, Honey, Kiss Me
Written by Albon Timothy / Michael Julien
Released in 1958 on a single. A chance appearance as a last minute substitute on “Saturday Night At The London Palladium” where she sung As I Love You at the end of 1958 helped Shirley Bassey to become well known at that time. The earlier single release “As I Love You” was now selling very well. The public then also discovered “Kiss Me, Honey, Honey, Kiss Me” and in early 1959 it reached No. 3 in the charts. Eventually “As I Love You” reached No. 1 in the charts. These two records were running neck and neck in popularity for some time and Shirley Bassey became the first female singer since 1954 to have two records in the top five. In Australia “Kiss Me, Honey, Honey, Kiss Me” was her first hit and reached position No. 34 in the charts in 1959. “Kiss Me, Honey, Honey, Kiss Me” became a landmark in her early career and is forever associated with her.

In the OK! magazine interview Shirley Bassey stated that this song is one of her favourites among her own songs. Her other favourite is Big Spender. She said: “I never tire of them because they’re fun numbers in which audiences join in.”

The song was included in the 1959 album The Bewitching Miss Bassey (length 2:24). A newer recording was released in 1966 on the album I’ve Got A Song For You (length 1:52). The song was also recorded with the London Symphony Orchestra in 1984 on the album I Am What I Am (length 3:37). Most Shirley Bassey collections contain one of these recordings. Since 1959 Shirley Bassey has sung this song at almost every live concert it is also available on many live recordings, and on Video and DVD.

Colin’s Story
Interesting Background provided by Colin Vibert
I live in Jersey in the (British) Channel Islands. In 1959 the main industry of the island was tourism, mainly from France and the UK. The tourists appreciated the many unspoilt beaches and beautiful countryside that the island has to offer. As a result, a number of places of entertainment were established to entertain the tourists and the premier nightclub was Tam’s Pantry. Tam’s Pantry was situated on the sea front of the most popular bay on the island, St Brelades Bay. I was 15 and, for the opening night of their 1959 cabaret season, which would have been in May, my parents took me to Tam’s Pantry.

There was a trio on stage backing the artistes and the pianist was a certain Al(bion) Timothy. Al Timothy announced that he had written Kiss Me Honey Honey Kiss Me and spent the evening autographing copies of Shirley Bassey’s 45 r.p.m. record. It was my first Shirley Bassey record and my first 45, prior to that I had a wind up gramophone with 78’s. I now have 39 Shirley Bassey albums!

Unfortunately, the cabarets at Tams ceased some years ago, part of the building was converted to a hotel, Golden Sands Hotel, and the remainder traded for a while as a cabaret venue before bowing to the changing tastes of tourists and becoming a bar and a Chinese restaurant.

Thanks to Colin for providing this interesting information.

Lyrics:
Kiss me, honey, honey, kiss me
Thrill me, honey, honey, thrill me
Don’t care even if I blow my top
But, honey, honey, don’t stop

I’d like to play a little game with you
A little game especially made for two
If you come close then I will show you how
Closer, closer, now

Kiss me, honey, honey, kiss me
Thrill me, honey, honey, thrill me
Don’t care even if I blow my top
But, honey, honey, don’t stop

We’ve never played this little game before
If you relax then you’ll enjoy it more
Just settle down and let me teach you how
Closer, closer, now

Kiss me, honey, honey, kiss me
Thrill me, honey, honey, thrill me
Don’t care even if I blow my top
But, honey, honey, don’t stop
(But, honey, honey, don’t stop)

You kiss so well my lips begin to burn
And I can tell I’ve got a lot to learn
So hold me close and darling show me how
Closer, closer, now

Kiss me, honey, honey, kiss me
Thrill me, honey, honey, thrill me
Don’t care even if I blow my top
But, honey, honey, don’t stop
(Don’t care even if I blow my top)
But, honey, honey, don’t stop
(Never stop)

1

2

3

3 thoughts on “FROM THE ARCHIVE 237 -1958-”

  1. As dear Dame Shirley’s Mum said as Dame Shirley had a bit of a lisp so it was first sounded as “Kith Me Honey, Honey Kith Me

    Like

  2. What a FANTASTIC ARCHIVE THIS IS, The Memories Come Flooding Back, Like Colin,,[ as Regular Blog Friends Know From as Far away as JILL [CANADA],, JULIE { U.K] CLAUDIA, [ U.S.A] ] & of course
    [ PiIETER, ] All know [ I TO,] , Also Live in ST BRELADE, to this Day, IN JERSEY, CHANNEL ISLANDS
    ,I Worked NEXT Door to TAM,S CABARET NIGHT SPOT At MID BAY BEACH CAFE [1964] And in [1965] On THE BEACH IT’S SELF,, HIRING OUT SURF BOARDS ,,DECK CHAIRS, WIND BREAKS To the HOLIDAY MAKERS, , in the the Early 1960’s as COLIN said it was the Most POPULAR BEACH & NIGHTSPOTS ON THE ISLAND, I Was 20 YEARS OLD on my FIRST Visit to TAM’s in 1960, What FABULOUS DAYS & MEMORIES i Have & the TAN after 10 hours a Day 7 DAYS a Week,on the BEACH , i Did NOT NEED A SPRAY TAN.
    As my Dear Friend Jill Says The KISS Did Sound Like ‘ Kith’ on the Early Recording in 1958.
    i ALSO LOVE the TOP 30 LIST OF THE HIT PARADE as it was then Called, & Note the PRICE of the SHEET MUSIC 2/- SHILLINGS, [FAB]
    I THINK I HAVE SAID IT ALL,
    On the VIDEO, the ALBUMS & E.P Covers Featured i have the ORIGINALS all on VINYL , 78’s R.P.M & 45’s.
    , Hello to My BASSEY FRIENDS & Thanks PIETER ,& COLIN BRILLIANT.

    DENNIS , [JERSEY,} CHANNEL ISLANDS ,,

    Like

Please leave your comment here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.