FROM THE ARCHIVE 246 -1961-

1961 J

1961 G

1961 C (blog)

1961 AR NMEBassey10thFeb

img019b21

Selections+from+Shirley+and+Shirley+BasseyShirley Bassey is a 1961 album by Shirley Bassey, her fifth studio album and her third with EMI/Columbia. Bassey was accompanied by Geoff Love and his orchestra and The Williams Singers (The Rita Williams Singers). The album spent eleven weeks on the charts, beginning in February 1962, and peaking at #14.

The albums ‘Shirley’ and ‘Shirley Bassey’ were released on CD in 1997 by EMI (From Wikipedia)

Goodbye lover cover

Goodbye lover 1

Goodbye lover 2

Goodbye lover 3

Lyrics:

Goodby lover, hello friend,
Who’d had thought this affair could end?
But we’re intelligent people,
Much too grown up to pretend.

Goodbye lover let’s agree,
We will meet just occasion’lly,

Someday we will discover
Dreams that are broken can mend!

I’d like to run away from you
Leave all my longing behind me.
But what a foolish thing to do,
For how would you know where to find me?

Goodbye lover, go your way.
I will miss you each lonely day.

And when at last you realize,
A love like our love never dies,
I know we’ll be together in the end.

Then I’ll say: Hello lover,
Goodbye friend!

2 thoughts on “FROM THE ARCHIVE 246 -1961-”

  1. SAME HERE PIETER,,,I AGREE WITH CLAUDIA’S COMMENT I WAS JUST 21 ON THE RELEASE OF THESE TWO FANTASTIC ALBUMS,,IN 1961, TWO OF MY ALL TIME FAVOURITE L.P’s,, NOSTALGIA & GREAT MEMORIES MANY THANKS,

    DENNIS , JERSEY CHANNEL ISLANDS .

    Like

Please leave your comment here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.